## ICCTA BOARD HIGHLIGHTS

June 21, 2004

The ICCTA Board of Representatives took the following actions at its June 19, 2004, meeting at the Renaissance Hotel in Springfield, Illinois:

- Reminded trustees to stay in touch with their legislators regarding the FY 2005 state budget and to ask for level funding of community colleges in FY 2005;
- Learned that if the Governor's proposed FY 2005 budget is adopted, state support for community colleges would have dropped 18 percent since FY 2002;
- Adopted a resolution regarding funding and legislative advocacy;
- Were informed that the Illinois Community College Board is creating a committee to study the issue of baccalaureate programs at community colleges. Trustees also discussed the pros and cons of this issue;
- Heard that ICCB will use a facilitator to assist in the proposed revisions in the adult education funding formula;
- Received an update on the association's search to replace retiring executive director Gary Davis. A total of 119 applications from 24 states has been received to date. The ICCTA Search Committee has narrowed the field to 14 semi-finalists and will make a recommendation of 3 5 candidates to the ICCTA Executive Committee for further consideration:
- Elected the following 2004-2005 officers by unanimous ballot:
  - \* Tom Bennett (Parkland) vice president
  - \* Dr. Clare Ollayos (Elgin) secretary
  - \* Jim Beasley (Kaskaskia) treasurer
- Recognized ICCTA's officers and committee chairs for 2003-2004;
- Honored the recipients of this year's Trustee Education Awards: Tom Bennett, Reggie Coleman (John Wood), Richard Roehrkasse (Southwestern), Kathy Wessel (DuPage), John Ahern (Black Hawk), Dick Cheney (Danville), John Huston (Carl Sandburg), Mary Nolan (Moraine Valley), Dr. Clare Ollayos, Jake Rendleman (Logan), Chris Ringhausen (Lewis and Clark), Jim Ayers (Parkland), Dave Maguire (Spoon River), Don Patton (Shawnee), and Mike Sullivan (Lake Land);

- continued -

- Learned that John Ahern will receive the Association of Community College Trustees' 2004
  Central Region Trustee Leadership Award;
- Were told of the Illinois Presidents Council's officers for 2004-2005:
  - \* Dr. Jon Astroth (Heartland) president
  - \* Dr. Alice Jacobs (Danville) -- vice president
  - \* Dr. Keith Miller (Black Hawk) -- secretary/treasurer
- Were asked to save the dates of Feb. 24-25, 2005, for the Leadership and Core Values Institute in Bloomington; and
- Thanked ICCTA's convention sponsor, the Illinois Community College Risk Management Consortium.

The next ICCTA Board of Representatives meeting will take place on Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004, at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Springfield, Illinois.