ICCTA Meritorious Service Award
2007 Recipient

Geoffrey Obrzut
President / CEO
Illinois Community College Board

Geoff Obrzut has witnessed the growth of Illinois' community colleges from several vantage points: as a student, a trustee, a legislator, and now as the head of the third largest community college system in the United States.

A 1972 graduate of Triton College, Obrzut served on its board of trustees for six years during the 1980s. He also gained a statewide perspective as treasurer of the Trustees Association from 1986-87.

From 1991 to 1993, he served in the Illinois House of Representatives, where he co-sponsored legislation to increase education funding.

Geoffrey Obrzut accepts ICCTA's 2007 Meritorious Service Award from ICCTA president Clare Ollayos.

Geoffrey Obrzut accepts ICCTA's 2007 Meritorious Service Award from ICCTA president Clare Ollayos.

In January 2004, Obrzut was appointed president/CEO of the Illinois Community College Board. During his first year, he traveled to nearly every college district in the state to commemorate the system's 40th anniversary.

Under Obrzut's leadership, ICCB has undertaken a Homeland Security and Campus Safety Initiative, advocated for additional resources for adult education and family literacy, and completed comprehensive reports on textbook costs, baccalaureate degree access, and funding of Illinois Veterans and National Guard grants. This summer, ICCB will release the findings of its statewide community college economic impact study.

Obrzut is also making Illinois' presence felt on the national community college scene. He recently completed a one-year term as treasurer of the National Council of Directors of Community Colleges and will serve as vice chair for legislation for 2007-2008.

For additional information on ICCTA's Meritorious Service Award, please contact Kim Villanueva at 217-528-2858, ext. 1.

Illinois Community College Trustees Association
401 E. Capitol Ave., Suite 200
Springfield, IL 62701-1711
217-528-2858 (phone)
217-528-8662 (fax)
ICCTA@communitycolleges.org (e-mail)

| Home | News | Events | Links |