ICCTA Board Highlights
June 17, 2002

The ICCTA Board of Representatives took the following actions at its June 15, 2002, meeting at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Springfield, Illinois:

  • Adopted a Strategic Plan for the Trustees Association;
  • Reviewed the recent FY 2003 state budget deliberations. Community colleges experienced a 4.9 percent cut in funding: a 1-percent reduction in credit hour grants; a 1-percent reduction in equalization grants; a 4.7-percent cut in adult education; and elimination of funding for special population grants, special initiatives grants, and the Leadership and Core Values initiative. In addition, community colleges will be affected by funding cuts in other state programs, including a $35 million loss in Monetary Award Program grants. The Illinois General Assembly also added $5 million in state funding for the City Colleges of Chicago, $5 million for colleges other than City Colleges, and $2 million for the City Colleges' new technology initiative. Community college capital appropriations were not affected by the budget revisions;
  • Endorsed the Presidents Council's recommendation that the $5 million in non-City Colleges funding be used to supplement losses in base operating grants and equalization grants, with remaining money used for special populations grants;
  • Were reminded that the Association of Community College Trustees' convention will be held September 18 - 21 in Philadelphia. Two Illinois trustees -- Jim Ayers of Parkland College and Dave Maguire of Spoon River College -- have been nominated for the ACCT board;
  • Elected ICCTA officers for 2002-2003:
    * Jake Rendleman (John A. Logan College) -- vice president
    * Rev. Albert Tyson (City Colleges of Chicago) -- treasurer
    * Patti Wojcikowski (South Suburban College) -- secretary
    Jack Daley (Moraine Valley) will assume the presidency of ICCTA on July 1;
  • Were updated on the work of the Illinois Community College Board's Funding Formula Task Force. ICCTA and other groups will be asked to provide feedback on the final report over the summer. ICCB wilI vote on the task force recommendations in October;
  • Were urged to register for the ICCB's June 30 - July 3 Leadership and Core Values national conference in Chicago;
  • Learned that the President Council elected the following officers for 2002-2003:
    * Dr. Michael Murphy (College of DuPage) -- chair
    * Dr. Terry Ludwig (Shawnee Community College) -- vice chair
    * Dr. Jon Astroth (Heartland Community College -- secretary/treasurer
  • Learned that ICCB will soon appoint a task force to study adult education funding. Trustees interested in serving on the task force should contact ICCTA at 1-800-454-2282;
  • Heard that Gov. George Ryan has appointed Ed Welk and Judith Rake as new members of ICCB, and that Mark Weber (Moraine Valley) will serve as the student member;
  • Discussed efforts to require a baccalaureate degree as the entry-level requirement for nursing; and
  • Recognized John Duffy (Elgin Community College) on his receipt of the Association of Community College Trustees' Central Region Trustee Leadership Award and ICCTA's Ray Hartstein Trustee Achievement Award.

    The next ICCTA Board of Representatives meeting will take place on Saturday, Sept. 14, 2002, at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Springfield, Illinois. For information, contact ICCTA at 1-800-454-2282.

In Association with Amazon.com

Illinois Community College Trustees Association
401 E. Capitol Ave., Suite 200
Springfield, IL 62701-1711
217-528-2858 (phone)
217-528-8662 (fax)
ICCTA@communitycolleges.org (e-mail)

| Home | News | Events | Links |