ICCTA Distinguished Alumnus Award
Previous Recipients

The Hon. Howard C. Ryan
Former chief justice
Illinois Supreme Court
LaSalle-Peru-Oglesby Junior College (now Illinois Valley Community College)

Evelyn Meine
Associate director of centennial events
Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Oakton Community College

Dr. Donald A. Holt
Illinois Agricultural Experimental Station, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Joliet Junior College

1988 (co-winners)
William S. Badgley
Chairman of the board / president
Magna Group, Inc.
Belleville Area College (now Southwestern Illinois College)

Dr. Constance T. Rockingham
Dean of students
Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville
State Community College (now East St. Louis Community College Center)

Mary L. Bramer
Retired junior high school English teacher / One of the first students with disabilities to graduate from the University of Illinois
Elgin Community College

1990 (co-winners)
Dr. Henrietta Herbolsheimer
Associate professor emeritus
Department of Medicine, University of Chicago
LaSalle-Peru-Oglesby Junior College (now Illinois Valley Community College)

Dempsey J. Travis
Real estate entrepreneur / African-American historian
Wilson Junior College (now Kennedy-King College)

1991 (co-winners)
Dr. William H. Matchett
Dean of the graduate school
New Mexico State University
Elgin Community College

Mary Karasek
City treasurer of Berwyn / Trustee, Morton College
Morton College

Dr. Mark A. Pierce
Founding director
Infectious Disease Clinic, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
John A. Logan College

The Hon. Rosemary Mulligan
State representative, 55th District
Illinois House of Representatives
William Rainey Harper College

Byron J. Williams
System engineer
Advanced intelligent network area, AT & T Bell Labs
Olive-Harvey College

1995 (co-winners)
Terry L. Lengfelder
Managing partner
Central Region, Arthur Andersen and Co.
Belleville Area College (now Southwestern Illinois College)

Alice "Tinker" Parker
Business instructor / Student services staff
Kankakee Community College
Kankakee Community College

Ricardo Cruz
Author / English professor
Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
Richland Community College

Dr. Vernita Irvin-Mays
Coordinator, Tech-Prep program / Radiologic technology professor
Malcolm X College
Malcolm X College

Raquel G. Martinez
Attorney / Compliance counsel
Illinois Student Assistance Commission
Morton College

1999 (co-winners)
James Belushi
Actor / Business owner
College of DuPage

Mark Michalic
Special agent
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms, U.S. Department of the Treasury
Rend Lake College

Henry English
President / CEO
Black United Fund of Illinois, Inc.
Malcolm X College

Karen Keasler
Chair, Business division
Southeastern Illinois College
Southeastern Illinois College

Eric Donaldson
Art teacher
Pecatonica High School
Highland Community College

Peggy Kirby
Retired publisher
Elgin Courier News
Elgin Community College

John W. Fountain
Author and visiting scholar
Wilbur Wright College

The Hon. Gerald C. Bender
Judge, Domestic relations division
Circuit Court of Cook County
Wilbur Wright College

Marija Zivanovic-Smith
Government programs senior professional
IBM Corporation
College of DuPage

Chad Pregracke
Founder and president
Living Land Waters
Black Hawk College (2001)

Penny Panayiota Deligiannis
Senior consultant for international development
Orthodox Autocephalous Church and Diaconia Agapes
Waubonsee Community College (1985)

Dr. Dennis Hall
Associate provost for research and graduate education
Vanderbilt University
Southwestern Illinois College (1968)

Kim Gilmore
President and founder
Gilmore Marketing Concepts
Elgin Community College (1991)

Larry Blackerby
Vice president and general manager
Lake Land College (1968)

Deborah Nelson
Senior lecturer and director, Carnegie Seminar
Philip Merrill College of Journalism, University of Maryland
College of Lake County (1973)

Juan Salgado
President and CEO
Instituto del Progresso Latino
Moraine Valley Community College (1989)

Alan Ladwig
To Orbit Productions
Elgin Community College (1969)

Dr. Phillis Dewitt
Adult hospitalist, sexual assault nurse examiner, and nursing instructor
OSF St. Francis Healthcare
Illinois Central College (1993)

Cinda Edwards
Sangamon County, Illinois
Lincoln Land Community College (1978 & 1979)

Jay D. Bergman
President, CEO and founder
Petco Petroleum Corporation
Joliet Junior College (1968

2018 co-recipients
William Albracht
Retired special agent
US Secret Service
Black Hawk College (1973)

Dr. Karla Ivankovich
President and co-founder
OnePatient Global Health Initiative
Lincoln Land Community College (1993)

Susan Trieschmann
Founder and executive director
Curt's Café
Oakton Community College (2006)

For additional information on the Distinguished Alumnus Award, please contact Kim Villanueva at 1-800-454-2282, ext. 1.

Illinois Community College Trustees Association
401 E. Capitol Ave., Suite 200
Springfield, IL 62701-1711
217-528-2858 (phone)
217-528-8662 (fax)
ICCTA@communitycolleges.org (e-mail)

| Home | News | Events | Links |