ICCTA Action Alert
August 27, 2002

Gov. Ryan releases $50 million in capital funding

Gov. George Ryan has announced the release of $50 million in FY 2003 capital funding for the Illinois community college system. These funds are part of the Governor's $250 million, five-year plan to renovate and replace temporary facilities on the state's community college campuses.

The following information is reprinted from the news release issued by Gov. Ryan's office this afternoon at: news release issued by Gov. Ryan's office.

August 27, 2002

Governor Announces $50 Million FY ‘03 Investment
in Community Colleges Throughout Illinois

CENTRALIA, IL -- Governor Ryan today announced the release of Fiscal Year 2003 capital construction funds through the Illinois Community College Board (ICCB) including $7.9 million to build a Workforce Development Center and Child Care Center for Kaskaskia College.

"Community colleges provide an affordable education for people trying to build a better life for themselves and their families,” said Governor Ryan. “Community colleges are partners in our workforce development efforts.”

The release of these capital funds is part of a $50 million allocation designated solely for Illinois community colleges by Governor Ryan. This is part of his initiative to allocate a total of $250 million over five years for the long overdue renovation and replacement of temporary buildings on community college campuses throughout the state.

“Governor Ryan has consistently proven himself a friend of Illinois community colleges,” said ICCB Chairman Edward T. Duffy. “He has championed the value of community colleges throughout his administration, and I want to recognize him publicly with our appreciation for his great support.”

Governor Ryan also visited John A. Logan College for the groundbreaking of a new Workforce Development Center and a Community Health Education Complex on Wednesday.

“One of the hallmarks of Governor Ryan’s administration is its commitment to workforce development,” said ICCB President and Chief Executive Officer Joseph J. Cipfl. “Governor Ryan truly recognizes the intimate link between education and a strong workforce and expects Illinois community colleges to deliver.”

Kaskaskia College is located in the first district in Illinois to be established under the Illinois Public Junior College Act. Oscar Corbell, the first college president, wrote the Act in 1937. The Illinois Community College Board is the state coordinating agency for the 39 community college districts and 48 community colleges. Illinois is the third largest community college system in the United States.

Governor Ryan also announced the release of Illinois community college construction grants for the following:

  • Rock Valley College (Rockford), $9,181,500 toward a total $23,816,000 for an arts instructional building.

  • Rend Lake College (Ina), $1,102,600 for expansion of the Career and Applied Technology Center.

  • Olive-Harvey College (City Colleges of Chicago), $1 million toward a total $29,911,000 for a new building.

  • Morton College (Cicero), $3,951,700 for emergency building repairs.

  • Sauk Valley (Dixon), $3,305,100 for the remodeling of two buildings.

  • Shawnee College (Ullin), $1,863,500 for the Metropolis Regional Education Center.

  • Southeastern Illinois College (Harrisburg), $3,623,600 for renovation and expansion of the technology center.

  • Kishwaukee College (Malta), $1,140,000 for replacement of the Early Childhood Center.

  • Richard J. Daley College (City Colleges of Chicago), $4 million toward a total $12,205,000 for the Industrial Technology Center.

  • Richland Community College (Decatur), $2,182,000 for the Agriculture/Occupational Technology Building.

  • Heartland Community College (Normal), $1.2 million toward a total $12,020,700 for the Workforce Development Center.

  • Lincoln Land Community College (Springfield), $666,300 for expansion of the Regional Center in Taylorville.

  • Moraine Valley Community College (Palos Hills), $2.7 million for temporary facilities replacement.

  • South Suburban College (South Holland), $937,000 for renovation of gymnasium and maintenance facility.

  • Lake Land College (Mattoon), $575,000 toward a total $5,773,200 for Phase II of the Center for Technical Education.

  • Southwestern Illinois College (Belleville), $888,000 for the Fire Science Training Center.

  • Danville Area Community College (Danville), $1 million toward a total $3,381,3000 for remodeling of the Conference Center.

  • Lewis and Clark Community College (Godfrey), $900,000 for the Carlinville Center.

    For additional information on state legislative issues, contact ICCTA at 1-800-454-2282.

  • Ads
    In Association with Amazon.com

    Illinois Community College Trustees Association
    401 E. Capitol Ave., Suite 200
    Springfield, IL 62701-1711
    217-528-2858 (phone)
    217-528-8662 (fax)
    ICCTA@communitycolleges.org (e-mail)

    | Home | News | Events | Links |